top of page

All 59 WBBL 2021 matches to be telecast live; Cricket Australia secures deal with Foxtel

All 59 WBBL 2021-22 matches to be telecast live for the first time, CA secures deal with Foxtel.

WBBL 2021: Women's Big Bash League 2021 all the 59 matches will be live telecasted on television, CA cracks deal with Foxtel
WWBL's all 59 matches will be live telecasted for 2021 season. (©CA/Twitter)

Cricket Australia has successfully secured a monumental deal for the upcoming edition of Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) where all 59 matches would be broadcasted live for the first time. Along with this, they have also announced the full schedule of the 8-team revered tournament set to start on Thursday, October 14.

A total of 36 matches of the sixth edition of WBBL were broadcasted live on television with the remaining few streamed online whereas the newly secured deal with Foxtel, will telecast all the matches live while free-to-air network Channel Seven will show 24 games.

BBL’s general manager, Alistair Dobson, speaking about the same credited the success of the last edition, its fans as well as the players saying, “The Weber WBBL is Australia’s highest-rated sporting league for women and the world’s best cricket league for women.”

“We owe it to our players and loyal fans to deliver a full schedule, and today’s announcement further strengthens this,” he added.

Due to border closures amid COVID restrictions, WBBL will miss previously well-received venues in Victoria and New South Wales with the first 20 matches scheduled to be played in Tasmania and the remaining across venues in Adelaide, Perth, and Mackay in Queensland. Focusing on the successes, Alistair Dobson said, “Fans can now watch every game on TV, ensuring that our passionate supporters will have access to world-class cricket despite the challenges of the pandemic."

This year's WBBL will also feature a number of top Indian cricketers, most of whom are already competing in the multi-format series against the host nation Australia. Harmanpreet Kaur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana are few of the big names amongst others.

The first match will see the defending champions Sydney Thunder facing off against Melbourne Stars on Thursday, October 14.

21 views0 comments


bottom of page