top of page

BCCI announces 'Virtual' Group-based Format for IPL 2022; Total of 74 Games to be played

Updated: Feb 26, 2022

IPL 2022: IPL unveils new format for IPL 2022, Groups, Venues & No. of Matches

IPL 2022: IPL announce new format for IPL 2022  Format. Number of matches, Group, Venues and Teams (Image BCCI/IPL))
IPL 2022: IPL announce new format for IPL 2022 Format. (Image credit BCCI/IPL))

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Friday, announced the format for the 2022 edition of Indian Premier League (IPL). The addition of two new franchises, Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Gujarat Titans (GT) has prompted the league to have two separate groups.

A brief overview of the format – Similar to IPL 2011 but with a tweak of seeding

The IPL Governing Council announced that the 10 teams would be divided into two “virtual” groups with five sides in each group. The five teams in each group will play a total of 14 league matches (7 home matches and 7 away fixtures), totaling to 70 league matches, followed by the four playoff matches.

Group Division for IPL 2022

Group A Teams (*)

Group B Teams (*)

1. MI (5 Titles)

2. CSK (4)

3. KKR (2)

4. SRH (1)

5. RR (1)

6. RCB

7. DC


9. LSG

10. GT

*number of title wins

Now here comes the question, how are the groups decided?

Well, the answer is simple, if one wants to dig in.

The teams have been finalised in two virtual groups on the back of the number of IPL titles won followed by the number of final matches played by the respective teams. The BCCI has then used the formula of twos and divided the franchises into Group A and Group B.

How the teams will be pitted against each other?

Each team will play four other teams from the same group twice (home and away) and once against four teams from the other group; apart from this a team will play two matches against a team placed similarly in the corresponding group (by seeding).

To get a clear picture, Mumbai Indians (MI) from Group A will play the correspondingly seeded Chennai Super Kings (CSK) from Group B twice but the other four teams from Group B only once. Similarly, in Group B, RCB will play two matches against CSK, SRH, PBKS and GT. RCB will also play two matches against RR and one match each against other teams in Group A.

“A total of 70 league matches will be played across four international standard venues in Mumbai and Pune. The venue for the playoff matches will be decided later,” said BCCI in an official release.

Team-Wise Fixtures For IPL 2022 (League Stage)

MI will play

KKR, RR, DC, LSG and CSK twice. GT, PBKS, RCB and SRH once

CSK will play

SRH, RCB, PBKS, GT and MI twice. KKR, RR, DC and LSG once

KKR will play

MI, RR, DC, LSG and SRH twice. CSK, RCB, PBKS and GT once

SRH will play

CSK, RCB, PBKS, GT and KKR twice. MI, RR, DC and LSG once

RR will play

MI, KKR, DC, LSG and RCB twice. CSK, SRH, PBKS and GT once

RCB will play

CSK, SRH, PBKS, GT and RR twice. MI, KKR, DC and LSG once

DC will play

MI, KKR, RR, LSG and PBKS twice. CSK, SRH, RCB and GT once

PBKS will play

CSK, SRH, RCB, GT and DC twice. MI, KKR, RR and LSG once

LSG will play

MI, KKR, RR, DC and GT twice. CSK, SRH, RCB and PBKS once

GT will play

CSK, SRH, RCB, PBKS and LSG twice. MI, KKR, RR and DC once

Break Down of Matches as per Venue


No. of Matches

Mumbai - Wankhede Stadium


Mumbai - Brabourne Stadium (CCI)


Mumbai - DY Patil Stadium


Pune - MCA International Stadium


All teams will play 4 matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium. 3 matches each at Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium, Pune.

For the unversed, this is not the first time such a format would be used in the lucrative T20 tournament. A similar format was used in the 2011 edition of the Indian Premier League when IPL had two new teams in the form of Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala. The only difference is that instead of the seeding pattern followed this time, a random draw was used in 2011 to determine which team from a group would play two matches with a team placed in the other group.

The detailed fixtures with the time table is yet to be announced even as the BCCI has hinted that the tournament may be held between March 26 and May 29.


bottom of page