top of page

ICC announces host nations for 2024-2031 Men’s white-ball multi-nation tournaments

India to host three ICC events in 2024-31 cycle, Pakistan gets 2025 Champions Trophy

ICC announces host nations for 2024-2031 Men’s white-ball multi-nation tournaments, India to host three ICC events in 2024-31 cycle, Pakistan gets 2025 Champions Trophy
India to host three ICC events in 2024-31 cycle, Pakistan gets 2025 Champions Trophy

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced host countries for the upcoming ICC white-ball tournaments between 2024-31. As many as eight white-ball ICC tournaments will take place between 2024-31 including, four ICC Men’s T20 World Cups, two ICC Men’s Champions Trophy tournaments and as many ICC Men’s Cricket World Cups.

The host nations were selected via a bidding process conducted by a sub-committee chaired by New Zealand Cricket (NZC) Chairperson Martin Snedden, Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) President Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt, President of Cricket West Indies (CWI).

Eight tournaments to be hosted by 14 nations

As many as 14 nations have got the hosting rights for the events, out of which 11 nations are full-time members who have already hosted ICC tournaments earlier. While the three associate nations USA, Namibia, and Ireland will get to host the events for the first time.

The 11 full-time members who get the hosting rights for the tournaments are Australia, Bangladesh, England, Ireland, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe.

USA and West Indies will jointly host the T20 World Cup in 2024, which will also serve as a dress-rehearsal for the International Cricket Council’s aim of having cricket included in the Los Angeles Olympics in 2028.

Namibia played for the first time in the T20 World Cup 2021 and presented a great display of cricket. The African nation have been honoured with hosting the 50-over World Cup in 2027. It will share the hosting rights with its neighboring countries, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

“The hosts were selected via a competitive bidding process overseen by a Board sub-committee chaired by Martin Snedden along with Sourav Ganguly and Ricky Skerritt,” ICC said in a statement.

Pakistan to host ICC Champions Trophy in 2025

Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy in 2025 which will be held after an eight-year hiatus. In 2017, Pakistan defeated India by 180 runs in the last edition of the Champions Trophy which was hosted in England. Intriguingly, Pakistan will host a global ICC tournament for the first time since hosting the 1996 World Cup alongside India and Sri Lanka. As the defending champions, Pakistan has been naturally awarded hosting rights for the upcoming Champions Trophy which is four years from now.

The sub-committee said that the Champions Trophy after a halt of eight years will be played in 2025 and 2029 as part of the 2024-31 cycle of ICC tournaments.

Host Nations For Men's ICC Events

T20 World Cup

Oct-Nov 2022: Australia*

June 2024: USA & West Indies

Feb 2026: India & Sri Lanka

Oct 2028: Australia & New Zealand

June 2030: England, Ireland & Scotland

ODI World Cup

2023: India*

Oct-Nov 2027: South Africa, Zimbabwe & Namibia

Oct-Nov 2031: India & Bangladesh

Champions Trophy

February 2025: Pakistan

Oct 2029: India

*previously announced

ICC Chair Greg Barclay said: “We are delighted to have concluded this competitive bidding process for the first time for ICC events. To have 14 Members hosting 8 events is a reflection of the truly global nature of our sport and I’d like to thank every Member that submitted a bid and offer our congratulations to the successful bidders.

“It is fantastic to be returning to so many previous posts, but what is exciting about this process is the countries who will stage ICC events for the first time including the USA which is a strategic growth market for us. This gives us the opportunity to deepen our connection with fans in traditional cricket nations and also reach new fans around the world.”

The sub-committee also stated that a similar bidding process will also be conducted for deciding the hosts for the upcoming ICC events for Women’s & Under-19 cricket.

“The ICC Board accepted the recommendations of the committee, who conducted a thorough review of each bid along with ICC management. A similar process to identify the hosts for ICC Women’s and U-19s events for the next cycle will be undertaken early next year,” the statement further added.


bottom of page