top of page
  • Deep

ICC Men’s T20 WC 2021 Records – Aus win 6th world title; Marsh gets fastest 50 (31 balls) in a Final

Australia win their first T20 World Cup; eighth ICC trophy overall

ICC Men's T20 WC 2021 - AUS vs NZ - Mitchell Marsh's unbeaten 77 helps Australia beat New Zealand and win their maiden T20 WC Title.
Mitchell Marsh scores fastest 50 (31 balls) in a Final (©GettyImages)

Australia have lifted their first-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title in the seventh edition of the tournament after defeating New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final.

Here’s a look at the major records set in the final and semi-finals of this edition:

6 - Australia now have six world titles in limited-overs. West Indies have second-highest world titles (4) in limited-overs formats.

1 - Australia won their first T20 World Cup on Sunday after defeating New Zealand by 8 wickets in the Finals of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021.

31 - Mitchell Marsh completed his fifty in T20 World Cup 2021 Final off 31 balls which is the fastest fifty in any T20 World Cup Final. The previous fastest fifty in T20 World Cup Finals was struck by Kane Williamson in the same game in the first innings against Australia.

1 - Mitchell Marsh scored an unbeaten knock of 77 runs in the T20 World Cup Finals, which is the highest score for any Australian in T20 World Cup Finals.

1 – Australia’s total of 173/2 is the highest-ever in an ICC World T20 final. The previous highest total was 161/6 by West Indies while chasing in 2016 at Kolkata against England.

1 - Josh Hazlewood’s figures of 3/16 against New Zealand is the joint-best for a pacer in a World T20 final. The previous best was 3/16 registered by Irfan Pathan against Pakistan in the 2007 World T20 final.

85 - Kane Williamson made 85 runs in the final game of T20 World Cup 2021, which is the joint-highest score in the T20 WC final as Marlon Samuels played an unbeaten knock of 85 runs against England in the 2016 T20 World Cup final.

6 - David Warner scored his sixth half-century against New Zealand. Only Virat Kohli (10), Chris Gayle (9), Rohit Sharma (8) and Mahela Jayawardene (7) have scored more half-centuries in T20 World Cup tournaments than Warner.

6 - Australia won six matches in this edition of the T20 World Cup. Only two other teams winning six matches in a single edition of the T20 World Cup before Australia are Sri Lanka in 2009 and Australia themselves in 2010.

1 - David Warner now holds the record of scoring most runs (289) in a T20 World Cup for Australia, going past Matthew Hayden’s 265 runs in 2007. Babar Azam top-scored in this edition of the World Cup whereas Wanindu Hasaranga is the highest wicket-taker in this tournament.

3 - Aaron Finch became the third captain to get out on a first-ball duck in a World Cup knockout match.

1 - Mitchell Starc now has the most wickets (24) for Australia in T20 World Cup. He surpassed Shane Watson who has bagged 22 wickets in T20 World Cup.

1 - Mohammad Rizwan became the first player to score 1000 or more T20I runs in a calendar year-2021.

16 - Australia halted Pakistan’s winning streak of 16 T20Is in UAE in the second Semi-Final match in T20 World Cup 2021.

3 - Pakistan become the first team to lose three World T20 semi-finals after their loss against Australia in the 2021 T20 World Cup semi-final. Before this, they lost against Australia in the 2010 T20 World semi-final and against Sri Lanka in the 2012 T20 World Cup semi-final.

1 - Shadab Khan becomes the first player to take four wickets in a World T20 semi-final match.

167 - is the highest target successfully chased at Abu Dhabi in T20Is, which was achieved by New Zealand against England. The previous highest was 165 by Namibia against the Netherlands in 2021.

1 - This is the first time England have lost a World T20 semi-final.

1 - This is the first time New Zealand have won a World T20 semi-final.

1 - Jos Buttler now has the most runs (269) for England in a T20 World Cup season. He surpassed Joe Root who amassed 249 runs in the 2016 T20 World Cup.


bottom of page