• Deep

India vs Sri Lanka: Record 19 Players used by India in T20I series

19 - India used 19 players in this T20I series, which equals the record of Australia against India in 2016 and Romania against Bulgaria in 2020.

India vs Sri Lanka T20I Series 2021: India lost to Sri Lanka T20I series by 2-1. India tour of Sri Lanka 2021 ends.
Shikhar Dhawan; Oldest player to make captaincy debut for India in T20I. (Image: ©BCCI)

1 - Indian skipper Shikhar Dhawan struck 46 runs in the first T20I match, which is the highest score for an Indian player on captaincy debut. The previous record-holder is former Indian cricketer Virendra Sehwag who scored 34 while captaining his side against South Africa at Johannesburg in 2006, in what was incidentally India’s first ever T20I match.

1 - Shikhar Dhawan became the oldest player (35 years 232 days) to make his captaincy debut for the Indian team in T20I cricket. The previous record-holder was Rohit Sharma, who made his captaincy debut for India at the age of 30 years 234 days against Sri Lanka at Cuttack in 2017.

139 - Suryakumar Yadav has piled up 139 runs in his first three T20I innings which is the record highest runs scored by an Indian player in his first three T20I innings.

1 - Prithvi Shaw became the 1st player to open batting for India men in Tests, ODIs and T20Is before the age of 24.

2 - Prithvi Shaw is the second Indian player to get a golden duck on his T20I debut. The first Indian player to get a golden duck on his T20I debut was KL Rahul, who was dismissed on the opening ball of the innings against Zimbabwe at Harare in 2016.

3 - Prithvi Shaw is also the third Indian player dismissed on a duck on debut. MS Dhoni and KL Rahul also have this unfortunate record to their name.

250 - Bhuvneshwar Kumar completed 250 dismissals in international cricket while playing the first T20I match of the series.

4 – Sri Lankan batsman Charith A