top of page
  • Deep

IPL 2021 Records – Glenn Maxwell third player with 7,000 runs at a Strike Rate above 150

Glenn Maxwell becomes only third player to score 7000 T20 runs at a strike rate of over 150.

IPL 2021 Stats & Records: Glenn Maxwell joins the elite list of player with 7000 T20 runs at SR of over 150
Glenn Maxwell joins the elite list of player with 7000 T20 runs at SR of 150+ (Cricbuzz/Twitter)

The 43rd, 44th and 45th matches of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 saw a number of records smashed. Here’s a snapshot of the records set/broken in the given matches of the ongoing edition of the biggest cricket league in the world:

43rd IPL Match - Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore at Dubai

7000 - RCB all-rounder Glenn Maxwell completed 7000 runs in T20 cricket during his match-winning knock of 50 runs off 30 deliveries against Rajasthan Royals.

3 - Glenn Maxwell is only the third player in the world to have 7000 runs in T20 cricket with a strike rate of more than 150. Kieron Pollard (152.79) and AB de Villiers (150.46) are the other two players with this stupendous record.

1 – RCB pacer Harshal Patel became the highest wicket-taker in IPL (72) among uncapped players surpassing Rajat Bhatia (71) and Siddarth Trivedi (65).

1 - Harshal Patel became the highest wicket-taker (26) in an IPL season during his match-winning spell of 3/34 against RR. The previous record-holder was his colleague Yuzvendra Chahal who scalped 23 wickets in the 2015 IPL season.

Harshal is also the highest wicket-taker in an IPL season as an uncapped player. The previous record-holder was again Chahal who took 23 wickets in the 2015 IPL season before playing for India.

1 - Yuzvendra Chahal is the first player to win each of his first four IPL Player-of-the-Match awards outside India. Glenn Maxwell, Ruturaj Gaikwad, JP Duminy and Anrich Nortje won all their first three awards outside India.

1 - Harshal Patel took the fewest balls (242) to reach 25 wickets in an IPL season. The previous record-holder was former MI player Lasith Malinga, who reached 25 wickets in the 2011 IPL season in just 244 deliveries.

25 - Evin Lewis became the 25th player to score a half-century for Rajasthan Royals in IPL. He is the only West Indies player among these 25 names.

66 - Mohammed Siraj has delivered the most number of balls (66) without conceding a six in this season of IPL. Previous record holders were Kartik Tyagi and Anrich Nortje who bowled 62 balls each without conceding a single six in this season of IPL.

44th IPL Match - Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Chennai Super Kings at Sharjah

11 – Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have qualified for play-offs 11 times in IPL, which is the most for any team in the league’s 13-year long history.

1 - MS Dhoni became the first player to claim 100 catches for a team in IPL in this game. The closest players to the milestone of 100 catches are Suresh Raina (98 for CSK) and Kieron Pollard (94 for MI).

1 - Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis added 599 runs in this season of IPL for CSK which is a record for any CSK pair in an IPL season. They surpassed the record of Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina who stitched 587 runs batting together in the 2013 IPL season for the second-most successful franchise in the league.

1 - This is now the first-ever IPL season where Sunrisers Hyderabad could not win at least six matches.

1 - Rashid Khan became the first-ever player to pick at least 50 T20 wickets in five different years in the given format. He took at least 50 wickets in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021. Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine took more than 50 wickets in four different years.

6 – Ambati Rayudu reached 500 runs against SRH in IPL during this game which makes him only the sixth IPL player to do so. He is only the fourth Indian player to amass over 500 runs against SRH in IPL after Sanju Samson (615), Virat Kohli (564) and Robin Uthappa (509).

45th IPL Match: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings at Dubai

1 - KL Rahul became the first player to hit 100 sixes for Punjab in IPL in this game against KKR. Chris Gayle has smashed 92 sixes for PBKS in IPL.

1 - KKR spinner Sunil Narine became the highest wicket-taker against PBKS (31) in IPL along with Lasith Malinga and Dwayne Bravo who also have bagged 31 wickets each against PBKS in IPL.


bottom of page