top of page
  • Deep

IPL 2021 Records – KKR achieves its biggest victory in terms of balls remaining (60) against RCB

Virat Kohli becomes only fifth player in the history of IPL to play 200 games. First to play 200 games for RCB.

IPL 2021, RCBvsKKR: Virat Kohli plays his 200th IPL games. He becomes 5th player to do so. KKR defeat RCB by 9 wickets
Virat Kohli becomes only 5th player to play 200 IPL games. (Image: BCCI/Twitter)

Records set/broken in the 31st match - KKR vs RCB in Abu Dhabi

1 - RCB skipper Virat Kohli completed 200 IPL games for his team in this match. He is the first player to do so in IPL. CSK skipper MS Dhoni is second after Kohli as he has played 182 games for his team CSK in IPL.

14 - With Wanindu Hasaranga (who replaced Adam Zampa) playing for RCB, it ensures that at least one Sri Lankan played in all 14 IPL seasons so far. No Sri Lankan player was in the squad of all IPL teams before the IPL 2021. However, injuries to Adam Zampa and Daniel Sams led to the selection of Wanindu Hasaranga and Dushmantha Chameera by RCB.

60 - KKR defeated RCB with 60 balls remaining in this match which is the record of biggest margin of victory in terms of balls remaining for KKR. The previous record was KKR vanquishing Rajasthan Royals twice at Kolkata in 2011 and Jaipur in 2019, both with 37 balls remaining in the match.

1 - This is the biggest loss of RCB in terms of balls remaining in the match - 60. The previous record was held by Rajasthan Royals who beat RCB with 42 balls remaining at Abu Dhabi in 2014.

5 - KKR defeated RCB with 60 balls remaining which is the fifth-highest margin of defeat in terms of balls remaining in IPL. Mumbai Indians hold the overall record in IPL as they beat KKR with 87 balls remaining in IPL 2008.

5 - This is the fifth-fastest chase in IPL history accomplished in 10 overs. Mumbai Indians hold the record by vanquishing KKR by chasing the target in just 5.3 overs in IPL 2008.

3 - This is only the third instance of RCB not hitting any six in an innings in IPL (excluding wash-outs). The first two occasions were against the same team KKR in IPL 2017 at Kolkata and IPL 2021 at Abu Dhabi.

6 - RCB stalwart AB de Villiers recorded his sixth golden duck in IPL in this match.

1 - Sri Lanka all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga registered his first golden duck in IPL in his debut match playing for RCB.

6 – This is the sixth successive defeat for RCB in UAE. Incidentally, their last win came against KKR at the same venue when they vanquished them with 39 balls remaining in the match.

5 - RCB have batted first in 5 matches in Abu Dhabi. They've lost in all of them.

6 - RCB got all-out on 92 in this match against KKR. This is the sixth lowest total of RCB in IPL. The lowest total of RCB in IPL is 49 against the same opponents in IPL 2017 at Kolkata.

Records set/broken in 30th match – CSK vs MI in Dubai

100 - Dwayne Bravo and Jasprit Bumrah completed 100 IPL games for CSK and MI respectively in the first match of the second half of IPL 2021.

2 First match of the second half of IPL 2021 was only the second instance of two players completing 100 matches for their respective teams. Dwayne Bravo and Jasprit Bumrah completed 100 IPL games for CSK and MI respectively in this match. Rohit Sharma and Lasith Malinga achieved the same milestone while playing for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2017 against Sunrisers Hyderabad at Wankhede Stadium.

1 - Dwayne Bravo registered best figures for any player in his 100th IPL match for a team: 3/25. He broke the record of Harbhajan Singh who scalped three wickets for 27 runs against RCB at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru in his 100th IPL game for MI.

1 - Ruturaj Gaikwad smashed the best score by any CSK player against MI - 88*. He surpassed Michael Hussey who struck a knock of unbeaten 86 runs for the Yellow Brigade against Mumbai Indians in New Delhi in IPL 2013.

1 - Ruturaj Gaikwad is now the first IPL player with fifty-plus scores in four consecutive innings on UAE soil.

6 - CSK has won all matches (6) when Ruturaj Gaikwad scored at least 50 runs for them.

5 - Ruturaj Gaikwad has now won five Player-of-the-Match awards in IPL as an opener. Only Michael Hussey (9) and Shane Watson (6) bagged more Player-of-the-Match awards than Gaikwad among CSK openers.

1 - By taking two wickets in this match, MI player Trent Boult became the highest wicket-taker (73 wickets) in IPL among Kiwi players. He broke the record of Mitchell McClenaghan who snared 71 wickets in IPL.


bottom of page