top of page
  • Deep

IPL 2021 Records – Kohli second player after Gayle to have 10,000 runs in FC, List-A, T20 formats

Virat Kohli becomes first Indian player to score 10,000 run in T20.

IPL 2021 Records: Virat Kohli becomes first Indian to complete 10,000 runs in T20, IPL Stats and Records
Virat Kohli become first Indian to complete 10,000 T20 runs. (©BCCI/IPL)

The double-header fixtures in Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 saw a close battle between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the first game with Chennai scraping through by two wickets. The second game was a one-sided affair between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Mumbai Indians (MI) where the former emerged trumps by 54 runs.

Here is a look at the major records set/broken in the two matches:

39th IPL Match: RCB vs MI

10000 - RCB skipper Virat Kohli completed 10000 runs in T20 cricket during his knock of 51 runs off 42 deliveries.

5 - Kohli became the fifth player to amass 10,000 runs in T20 cricket after Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik and David Warner.

2 - Kohli became only the second player in the world to score 10,000 runs in each first-class, List-A and T20 cricket after Chris Gayle.

1 - This is RCB’s first victory after losing seven consecutive matches in UAE in IPL.

1 - This is the first time that RCB has bowled out MI in IPL.

1 – Jasprit Bumrah bagged three wickets in this match against RCB to become the highest wicket-taker against this franchise in IPL surpassing Ashish Nehra, Sandeep Sharma, Harbhajan Singh and Ravindra Jadeja (23 wickets apiece).

3 - RCB defeated MI by 54 runs in this game which led to straight three losses for MI in IPL. The last time MI lost 3 consecutive games before today was their first 3 matches of IPL 2018 against CSK, SRH and DC.

3 - RCB players have taken three hat-tricks in IPL. Only RR (4) and PBKS (4) have more hat-tricks in IPL than RCB.

7 - Mumbai Indians slipped to number 7 position in points table of IPL 2021 with four wins and six losses.

3 – Hat-trick of Harshal Patel in this game against MI is only third hat-trick against MI in IPL history. Current MI skipper Rohit Sharma has taken a hattrick against MI while playing for Deccan Chargers in 2009 and Samuel Badree has taken a hattrick in 2017 against MI while playing for RCB.

1 - Harshal Patel became the first pacer to take a hat-trick against Mumbai Indians in IPL. Two spinners Rohit Sharma and Samuel Badree have recorded hat-tricks against MI in IPL.

3 - Harshal Patel became only the third RCB player to take a hat-trick in IPL. Other two are Praveen Kumar against RR in 2010 and Samuel Badree against MI in 2017.

1 - This is the first time in IPL history that RCB has beaten MI twice in a season.

3 - Harshal Patel became the third-highest wicket-taker (57) for RCB in T20 cricket by surpassing Anil Kumble (53) during his match-winning spell in this game. Only Yuzvendra Chahal (130) and Vinay Kumar (80) have more wickets than Patel for RCB in T20 cricket.

3 - Harshal Patel became only the third IPL player to take a hat-trick outside India. The other two players are Yuvraj Singh (twice) and Rohit Sharma.

38th IPL Match: CSK vs KKR

1 - MS Dhoni took the catch of Dinesh Karthik in this game which make him the player with the highest catches (116) in IPL history as he overtook Dinesh Karthik who has taken 115 catches in IPL.

6 - KKR lost off the final ball defending a target for the sixth time against CSK which is a record for any team as they surpassed this dubious record earlier held by MI who lost off the final ball of the match defending a target five times in IPL.

3 - This is the third instance of CSK defeating KKR on the final ball of the match. The first two occasions were CSK beating KKR by five wickets at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata in 2012 and CSK beating KKR by six wickets in Dubai in 2020.

7 - CSK have won a run-chase off the final ball of the match seventh time in IPL which is a record for any team in the coveted league as they surpassed MI who have won a run-chase off the final ball six times in IPL.

8 - Suresh Raina has eight fifty-plus scores in his IPL career against KKR, the most by any player against KKR in IPL history and his most against a single team.

43 views0 comments


bottom of page