IPL 2021 - RR vs SRH - Sanju Samson's 82 goes in vain; Roy, Williamson take SRH home

Sanju Samson's 82 of 57 goes in vain as Kane Williamson and Jason Roy take SRH home.

Sunrisers Hyderabad 167 for 3 (Roy 60, Williamson 51*) beat Rajasthan Royals 164 for 5 (Samson 82, Kaul 2/36) by seven wickets

IPL 2021, RRvsSRH, Highlights: Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Rajasthan Royals by seven wickets, Sanju Samson, Kane Williamson and Jason Roy scored fifty.
Sanju Samson becomes new Orange Cap Holder of IPL 2021. (BCCI/IPL)

The partnerships built by Sanju Samson (82) along with Yashasvi Jaiswal (36) and Mahipal Lomror (29) helped Rajasthan Royals (RR) to post a target of 165 runs from 20 overs for the last-seeded Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH).

The 60-run knock from IPL debutant Jason Roy and the partnership between Abhishek Sharma and Kane Williamson helped SRH to their second victory of the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Sanju Samson shines again for RR, claims Orange Cap

Rajasthan Royals kicked off their innings with a brilliant partnership between Sanju Samson and Yashasvi Jaiswal of 56 runs for the second wicket and a stand of 84 runs for the fourth wicket ensued between Samson and Mahipal Lomror which helped RR to set a target of 165 runs for SRH.

Sanju Samson scored 82 runs from 57 balls which included seven fours and three sixes. Jaiswal and Lomror also scored some important runs to help their captain.

Samson is one of the players who has performed exceedingly well in the IPL but is not able to make it to the national side. He is one of the Indian wicketkeeper batters who has performed very well in most editions of Indian Premier League but is being ignored by the national selectors every year. He has got very few chances to prove himself in T20Is for the Indian national team and has been left out of the T20 World Cup 2021 squad as well.

Samson scored his 15th IPL fifty on Monday. The Rajasthan skipper completed his 3,000 runs in IPL. He has scored 433 runs in 10 innings with a strike rate of 141.96 in IPL 2021 and is currently the Orange Cap holder.