top of page
  • Deep

Ranji Trophy 2021-22 Round-up: Saurashtra’s Chirag Jani's 235 helps his side post 501

Ranji Trophy 2021-22 Updates: Chirag Jani for Saurashtra, Ganesh Satish for Vidarbha score double hundred.

Ranji Trophy 2021-22 Round-up:  Saurashtra’s Chirag Jani's double hundred 235 helps his side post 501 (Image ©TOI)
Chirag Jani scored double hundred (235 runs) against Odisha (Image ©TOI)

The second fixtures of the group stage of Ranji Trophy 2021-22 kicked off at various venues across the country. Here is a brief round-up of the top performances of the day.

Karnataka Vs Jammu & Kashmir: Karun Nair’s 175 and 71* put Karnataka in command

Karnataka faced Jammu & Kashmir at the Indian Institute of Technology Champlast Ground in Chennai. Karnataka veteran Karun Nair bailed out his side in the first innings with a remarkable 175 runs off 311 deliveries, before falling trap to Parvez Rasool who finished with 4/60 during Karnataka’s first innings. Prasidh Krishna registered the second fifer in his First-Class career, after having taken 6/35, which folded Jammu & Kashmir on just 93 in the first innings.

Karnataka got a huge lead of 209 runs in the first innings which gave impetus to the Manish Pandey-led side putting a giant target to their counterparts. Karnataka batters took duly advantage and scored 298/3 in their second innings, including a 100-run partnership between their openers, followed by 71* and 72 run knocks from Karun Nair and Siddharth in the middle order to post an elephantine target of 508 runs in front of Jammu & Kashmir.

Jammu & Kashmir could manage to score 189 runs for four wickets in the second innings and they are just six wickets away from a defeat.

Saurashtra vs Odisha: Saurashtra’s Chirag Jani struck 235 to help his side to post 501

Saurashtra and Odisha played Day 3 of their ongoing game at Sardar Patel Stadium B Ground in the Elite Group D match. In the first innings, Saurashtra batter Chirag Jani scored 235 runs off 373 balls and engaged in 100+ run stands with batters Sheldon Jackson (75 runs off 112 balls) and Arpit Vasavada (61 runs off 121 balls). In response to Saurashtra’s 501 runs in the first innings, Odisha managed a paltry 165 all-out in their first innings. Saurashtra bowlers Jaydev Unadkat (4/50) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (4/48) shared eight wickets among themselves, as they rattled Odisha’s batting lineup and forced them to the follow-on.

Odisha is currently batting on 115/5 with batter Rajesh Dhuper (2*) in the middle as Shantanu Mishra got out for 65 runs at the stumps. Odisha trailing Saurashtra by 221 runs.

Vidarbha Vs Maharashtra: Ganesh Satish’s 275 helped Vidharbha post 569/5 in 1st innings

Vidarbha and Maharashtra resumed Day 3 at Gurgaon Cricket Ground in Gurgaon. Day 2 had turned out to be in the complete command of Vidarbha as they posted a mammoth 569/5. Their top scorer Ganesh Satish amassed 275 runs off 482 balls studded with 33 boundaries and five sixes. The 33-years-old batter weaved a partnership of 288 runs with wicket-keeper Akshay Wadkar, who struck his seventh century and remained unbeaten on 145* runs.

Maharashtra replied with 273/6 and still batting in their first innings. Naushad Shaikh (103) and skipper Ankit Bawne (92) added 184 runs for the fourth wicket for their side. Maharashtra is still trailing by 296 runs to Vidarbha when they begin Day 4 tomorrow.

Tamil Nadu Vs Chhattisgarh: Baba Aparajith, Baba Indrajith centuries take Tamil Nadu to 470/9

Tamil Nadu (TN) faced Chhattisgarh at Nehru Stadium at Guwahati on Day 3, which was mostly curtailed by rain. In the first innings, Tamil Nadu had posted 470/9 owing to a terrific display by the popular brother duo Baba Aparajith (166) and Baba Indrajith (127) rescued the team from 59/2 to resurrect them to a huge total by engaging in 206-runs stand for the third wicket. Sumit Ruikar (4/168) and Ajay Mandal (3/132) chipped in for Chhattisgarh and finished as successful bowlers for their side during TN’s first innings. Chhattisgarh started their Day 3 on 105/5 where their skipper Harpreet Singh is currently unbeaten on 149* as the top scorer.

R Sai Kishore has taken 4/48 for Tamil Nadu. Chhattisgarh is currently batting at 261/8 and still trailing by 209 runs to TN’s first innings score.

Gujarat Vs Kerala: Vishnu Vinod struck his second first-class century

Gujarat was at odds with their southern counterpart Kerala at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot in the elite group A match on Day 3. Earlier, Gujarat had posted 388 in the first innings, but Kerala outscored them by posting 439 runs and took a lead of 51 runs. Rohan Kunnummal (129) and wicket-keeper batter Vishnu Vinod (113) struck individual centuries to give their side an edge in the first innings. Siddharth Desai took 5/132, followed by Arzan Nagwaswalla (3/102), and Roosh Kalaria (2/52) accounted for all the wickets of Kerala’s first innings.

Gujarat is currently batting on 128/5 in their second innings, with a nominal lead of 77 runs over Kerala with Umang Kumar (25* runs) and Karan Patel (28* runs) still in the middle to resume Day 4.

Delhi Vs Jharkhand: Ishant Sharma could bag only one wicket, Jharkhand lead by 315 runs

Delhi and Jharkhand are currently battling it out in the elite group H match at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. Jharkhand posted 251 in their first innings led by skipper Virat Singh, who scored 103 runs before falling trap to Navdeep Saini (3/37). In response, Delhi managed 224 runs in their all-out surrender to Jharkhand bowlers, especially Shahbaz Nadeem who bagged 5/58 in the first innings.

Jharkhand is currently batting on 288/5 in the 2nd innings with a lead of 315 runs before resuming Day 4 tomorrow. Opener Nazim Siddiqui scored 110 runs off 177 balls, while Kumar Suraj is still batting on 129* runs at the stumps on Day 3.

Surprisingly veteran pacer Ishant Sharma, who was recently dropped from the Test series against Sri Lanka, could take only one wicket in two innings in the ongoing game. He dismissed Utkarsh Singh for a duck in the third innings of the match and finished at 1/29.

Mumbai Vs Goa: Mumbai trying to avoid defeat against Goa

Mumbai were loggerheads with Goa in the elite group D match at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Mumbai was bowled for a paltry 163 runs, to the courtesy of Lakshay Garg (6/46) and Amit Yadav (4/47), both of whom accounted for all of Mumbai’s wickets. Sarfaraz Khan top-scored with 63 runs for Mumbai, while Tanush Kotian scored 30 runs. Goa responded with 327 runs which constituted the half-centuries of Amogh Desai (64 runs), Eknath Kerkar (71 runs), and Lakshay Garg (59 runs), and added a comprehensive lead of 164 runs over Mumbai.

Mumbai was trailing by 164 runs in the first innings, so they batted cautiously in the second innings to reach 322/7 at the end stumps on Day 3. Ajinkya Rahane scored fifty (56 runs) for Mumbai in second innings. Mumbai is leading by 158 runs over Goa with three wickets in hand before starting Day 4.

28 views0 comments


bottom of page