Ranji Trophy to make a return in 2021-22; BCCI announces schedule for upcoming season

After suffering a jolt in the last season due to the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic situation affecting the world, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on July 3 announced the schedule for domestic cricket in India comprising a total of 2127 matches across various age groups in the men’s and women’s category, for the upcoming 2021-22 season. Importantly, the much awaited and iconic Ranji Trophy will make a return this year after being cancelled last year.

According to a media release issued by BCCI, the domestic season will commence on September 21, 2021, with the Senior Women's One Day League and will be followed by the Senior Women's One Day Challenger Trophy, which will take place from October 27, 2021.

Read More: Sri Lanka Cricket calls India a “strong squad”, negates Ranatunga’s “second string side” comment

Return of the much awaited Ranji Trophy

Ranji Trophy, consisting of 38 teams, which was cancelled last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will be played in a three-month window from November 16, 2021 to February 19, 2022, BCCI stated.

The teams will be divided into four groups as previously – Elite A, Elite B, Elite C and Plate. As in the previous seasons, Elite A and Elite B groups will have 9 teams each while Elite C and Plate groups will have 10 teams each.

There will be a total of 177 matches that would be played over the three-month period.

Limited overs tournaments

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy for domestic men’s T20 cricket between 38 teams spread across five groups will start on October 20, 2021 with the final to be played on November 12, 2021.

The Vijay Hazare Trophy for List A men’s cricket will take place between 38 teams spread across three Elite and one Plate group between February 23, 2022 and March 26, 2022.

BCCI Domestic Schedule 2021-22 for Men’s cricket:

Need for multi-day tournament for women’s cricket

The Senior women’s one-day league will be played between 37 teams spread across four groups and will have 160 matches. The Senior women’s T20 league will have 142 matches between 37 teams spread across five groups.

It must be stated that BCCI also needs to consider introducing a mul