top of page
  • Deep

Walking Wicket’s T20 World Cup 2021 XI – WC champion Australia finds maximum representation

David Warner received Player of the Tournament for scoring 289 runs in seven games.

ICC Men's T20 WC 2021 - T20 World Cup 2021 Eleven
David Warner received Player-of-the-Tournament Trophy (©AFP/GettyImages)

Australia clinched the world title in the recently concluded ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman by defeating New Zealand by eight wickets in the final held at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Several cricketers from the 16 participating teams displayed sensational performances in this World Cup.

Let's zero down to Walking Wicket’s best XI from this edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Openers - David Warner and Babar Azam (c)

David Warner and Babar Azam will open for our best XI for T20 World Cup 2021. Australia opener David Warner was awarded Player of the Tournament in T20 World Cup 2021 for amassing 289 runs in seven games. The left-handed batter smashed three half-centuries in the World Cup campaign.

The 35-year-old batter slammed two phenomenal knocks in the semi-final and final to help his team to clinch the world title. Warner was in bad form before the start of the World Cup but his staggering performances in this edition of the World Cup stamped the greatness of Warner in T20I cricket.

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam is the leading run-getter of T20 World Cup 2021. He piled up 303 runs from six matches with an average of 60.60. He hammered four half-centuries in this campaign. Even though he top-scored in this edition of the World Cup, his team Pakistan couldn’t reach the final. He will lead our World Cup XI.

ICC Men's T20 WC 2021 - ENG vs SL - Jos Buttler's hundred (101*) help England beat Sri Lanka by 26 runs
Jos Buttler scored unbeaten hundred (101*) against Sri Lanka (©ICC/GettyImages)

The Middle Order - Mitchell Marsh, Charith Asalanka, Jos Buttler

Mitchell Marsh played the most important knock of his career in the T20 World Cup final to make Australia world champions. He scored 77 runs off just 50 balls to chase the target of 173 runs set by New Zealand in the final. He accumulated a total of 185 runs from six games in the World Cup. He also provided an extra pace bowling option to Australia skipper Aaron Finch throughout the World Cup. He will play at the one-down position in our team.

Sri Lanka’s young batter Charith Asalanka has been quite a revelation in this edition of the World Cup. The southpaw batter played some fabulous knocks in six games to score 231 runs with an average of 46.20. The 24-year-old batter will play at two down in our team.

English wicket-keeper batter Jos Buttler smashed the only century in this edition of the World Cup. He scored an unbeaten knock of 101 runs off 67 balls against Sri Lanka with the help of six towering sixes and six fours. Buttler racked up 269 runs in six games of the T20 World Cup with an astonishing average of 89.67. The right-hander piled up these runs at a staggering strike rate of 151.12. He will bat in the middle order of our team and will take the gloves as well.

All-rounders - Aiden Markram and David Wiese

Proteas batter Aiden Markram scored 162 runs in five matches in the campaign with an average of 54. He cracked two fifties in the tournament. Also, he bowled some economical spin bowling spells. He will be our number six in the World Cup XI.

Namibia all-rounder David Wiese scored 227 runs in eight matches of the tournament with an average of 45.40. He also snared six wickets in the campaign. He is the only player from associate teams to make it to our World Cup XI.

ICC Men's T20 WC 2021 Records - Wanindu Hasaranga (16) overtakes Mendis to become leading wicket-taker in single T20 WC (©ICC_GettyImages)
Wanindu Hasaranga (16) overtakes Mendis to become leading wicket-taker in single T20 WC (©ICC/GettyImages)

Spinners - Wanindu Hasaranga and Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga is the top wicket-taker of the T20 World Cup 2021. He scalped 16 wickets from just eight games. He also played a whirlwind knock of 71 runs off just 47 balls against Ireland. He will be the premier spinner in our World Cup XI.

World Cup winner Adam Zampa is the second-highest wicket-taker in the tournament. Zampa bagged 13 wickets from seven matches in the campaign. He will be our second spinner in the World Cup XI.

Pacers - Josh Hazlewood and Trent Boult

New Zealand Seamer Trent Boult and Josh Hazlewood will be our opening bowlers in the World Cup XI. Boult dismissed 13 batters in just seven games in the campaign. He was a vital player of the finalist Kiwi team in this campaign.

World Cup winner Hazlewood took 11 wickets in seven matches in the tournament. He bowled a threatening spell of 16/3 against New Zealand in the final of T20 World Cup 2021.

T20 World Cup Eleven – David Warner, Babar Azam (c), Mitchell Marsh, Charith Asalanka, Jos Buttler, Aiden Markram, David Wiese, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult, 12th Man – Anrich Nortje

As we can see, none of India’s players could make a place in our World Cup XI as India were eliminated in the Super 12 round of T20 World Cup 2021.

bottom of page