World T20 to begin on October 17 in UAE, Oman; final on November 14

Updated: Aug 19

The International Cricket Council (ICC) 2021 T20 World Cup is all set to start on October 17 in the United Arab Emirates and Oman, while the final will be held on November 14, 2021.

As per a report in ESPN, it has been learnt that the tournament will start two days after the curtailed Indian Premier League 2021 will end on October 15. UAE and Oman have been selected as the preferred locations to hold the 16-team tournament.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which is the host body for the World T20 this year, is yet to write officially to ICC about shifting the World T20 to UAE and Oman although it has started preparations for conducting the tournament in the middle east.

Read More: WTC Final: New Zealand crowned World Test Champions

Possibility of third wave of COVID-19 in India shifts tournament out of the country

Earlier, India was scheduled to organise the 2021 World T20 across nine venues, however, concerns over the nation being hit by the third wave of COVID-19 later this year led ICC to ask BCCI to make alternative arrangements. The concerns were justified as hosting a tournament across the length and breadth of a vast country would have involved players remaining out of bubbles.

ICC’s deadline to BCCI expires on June 30

ICC had given BCCI a deadline of June 30 to give their final word on the scheduling of the tournament. Last year, due to the onset of COVID-19 pandemic situation across the globe, the ICC had postponed the 2020 T20 World Cup, originally scheduled to be held in Australia, and decided India would host the tournament in 2021 with Australia hosting the 2022 edition.

Read More: Kyle Jamieson - Man who led India's downfall in WTC Final

Scheduling of World T20

The 2021 T20 World Cup would be held in two rounds. Round 1, which will have 12 matches, will be co-hosted in one of the venues of UAE and Oman. Eight teams namely, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, Papua New Guinea will be divided into two groups. The top four teams from this round (top two teams from each group) will join the top-ranked eight T20I teams in the Super 12s round.