top of page
  • Deep

ICC T20 WC 2021 Records - Rashid quickest to 100 T20I wickets; AFG lose 17-game winning streak

Rashid Khan reaches to 100 T20I wickets mark, quickest to do that.

ICC T20 WC 2021 Records - Rashid quickest to 100 T20I wickets; AFG lose 17-game winning streak
Rashid Khan becomes fastest player to take 100 T20I wickets (©ICC/GettyImages)

The Super 12 round of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 commenced on Friday with Bangladesh squaring off against West Indies in the first game. Afghanistan later played Pakistan in the second game of this round on Friday.

Here’s a look at the records set/broken on Friday in Super 12 matches of ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

50 - Gulbadin Naib played his 50th T20I match today.

1 - Mohmmad Nabi & Gulbadin Naib registered the first-ever unbeaten partnership of 50 or more runs for Afghanistan in the T20 World Cup.

100 - Rashid Khan completed 100 wickets in T20I cricket today with the wicket of Mohammad Hafeez.

1 - Rashid Khan is the fastest to reach 100 wickets in T20I cricket, as he reached the 100 wickets mark in just 53 innings. The previous record-holder was Lasith Malinga who completed 100 wickets in T20I cricket in just 76 innings.

4 - Rashid Khan is the only fourth bowler to take 100 wickets in T20I cricket after Lasith Malinga, Shakib Al Hasan and Tim Southee.

14 - Pakistan have won each of their last 14 T20Is that they have played in UAE.

22 - Pakistan win their 22nd match today in T20 World Cup.

2 - With 22 wins in T20 World Cup, Pakistan now have won the second-highest matches in T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka won the most number of matches in T20 World Cup (27).

17 - Afghanistan's 17-matches long winning streak in T20I cricket was broken today by Pakistan by defeating the former by five wickets.

1 - Pakistan Player Asif Ali smashed 25 runs off 7 balls today against Afghanistan and won the Man of the Match Award. He faced the least number of deliveries for any player in T20I cricket to win a Man of the Match award (Among players who didn’t bowl a single ball in that game).

Previous record holders were Dinesh Karthik (vs BAN 2018) and Brad Hodge (Vs SA in 2014), who faced 8 deliveries in their innings and won the Man of the Match award.

1 - Chris Gayle is the first player to face the first ball of a T20 World Cup innings after turning 40 years old.

7 - Bangladesh lost all seven limited over matches at Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

1 - Shakib Al Hasan has opened the batting in international cricket for the first time today.

1 - Gayle has now opened the batting more times (27) than any other player in ICC Men's T20 World Cup. TM Dilshan is the closest player to this record as he opened the batting for his side 26 times in Men's T20 World Cup.

1 - David Warner scored 552 runs in ICC T20 World Cups, which is the highest number of runs for any Australian player.

1 - David Warner is the first-ever player to share an opening partnership of more than 1000 runs with two players in T20I cricket. He added 1108 runs with Shane Watson and 1018 runs with Aaron Finch in T20I cricket.

1 - Adam Zampa is now the leading wicket-taker(16) against Sri Lanka in T20Is. Indian spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and English pacer Chris Jordan are second-highest wicket-takers (15) against Sri Lanka in T20Is.

400 - Australia skipper Aaron Finch completed 400 sixes in T20 cricket during his knock of 37 runs against Sri Lanka on Thursday.

8 - Aaron Finch became the only eighth player to achieve the milestone of 400 sixes in T20 cricket and the only second Australian to achieve this feat after Shane Watson (467).

50 - Kusal Perara completed 50 sixes in T20I cricket. He is the only second Sri Lankan player to achieve this landmark after Thisara Perara.


Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page