top of page
  • Deep

IPL 2021 Records – Orange Cap holder Shikhar Dhawan scores 400+ runs in sixth consecutive season

Delhi Capitals' Shikhar Dhawan has scored over 400 runs in six consecutive IPL seasons.

IPL 2021, DCvsSRH, PBKSvsRR, Shikhar Dhawan orange cap holder of IPL 2021, has scored 400+ runs in IPL 2021.
Shikhar Dhawan (422) reclaims Orange Cap from KL Rahul (380) (Image: Cricinfo)

A look at the records set/broken in the 32nd and 33rd matches of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021:

33rd IPL Match: SRH Vs DC

1 - Kagiso Rabada and Rishabh Pant became the first bowler-fielder/wicketkeeper combo to claim 20 IPL wickets.

1 - Shikhar Dhawan became the first batter to reach 400 runs in IPL 2021.

6 - Shikhar Dhawan has now scored over 400 runs in six consecutive IPL seasons. Only Suresh Raina (2008-14) and David Warner (2013-20) achieved the 400 run-mark for seven or more consecutive IPL seasons.

8 - Shikhar Dhawan has now amassed 400 or more runs in eight IPL seasons. Only Suresh Raina has scored 400+ runs in more IPL seasons than Dhawan (9 IPL seasons).

2000 - Wriddhiman Saha has completed 2000 runs in IPL. He becomes the first-ever player born in West Bengal to reach this milestone.

7 - SRH have lost seven out of their first eight matches in the IPL season. They are only the fifth team in IPL to achieve this miserable record after KKR in 2009, PBKS in 2010, DC in 2013 and RCB in 2019.

1 - Anrich Nortje bowled the fastest ball in IPL 2021 today against Sunrisers Hyderabad when he clocked 151.71 kph once in his spell.

1 - This is the first time Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) lost four consecutive group stage matches in an IPL season.

32nd IPL Match: PBKS Vs RR

1 - Arshdeep Singh took his first five-wicket haul in IPL in this match against Rajasthan Royals.

3 - Arshdeep Singh registered his third five-for for Punjab Kings in IPL. Dimitri Mascarenhas (5/25) and Ankit Rajpoot (5/14) were the first two Punjab Kings cricketers to take five-wicket hauls in IPL.

2 - This is only the second five-wicket haul against Rajasthan Royals in IPL. Anil Kumble (5/5) was the first cricketer to take a five-for against RR in Cape Town in 2009.

1 - Arshdeep Singh conceded 32 runs against RR while bagging five wickets which is the record for the most number of runs conceded while taking a five-for in IPL. The previous record-holder was Jaydev Unadkat who conceded 30 runs for five wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad in Hyderabad in 2017.

3 - A five-wicket haul by Arshdeep Singh against RR is only the third IPL five-wicket haul out of India. Before this, only Anil Kumble (vs RR in SA in 2009) and Varun Chakravarthy (vs DC in UAE in 2009) took five-for out of India.

50 - Mohammed Shami reached 50 wickets for Punjab Kings in IPL in this match against Rajasthan Royals.

4 - Having taken three wickets in this match, Mohammed Shami became the fourth-highest wicket-taker (50 wickets) for Punjab Kings by surpassing Irfan Pathan (47).

Only Piyush Chawla (84), Sandeep Sharma (71) and Axar Patel (61) have scalped more wickets for Punjab Kings in IPL than Shami.

3000 - KL Rahul completed 3000 runs milestone in IPL in 80 innings.

2 - KL Rahul is the second-fastest player (80 innings) to complete 3000 runs in IPL after Chris Gayle (75 innings).

1 - KL Rahul is the fastest Indian player (80 innings) to reach 3000 runs in IPL. The previous record-holder was Suresh Raina who reached the landmark in 103 IPL innings.

4 - KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal have stitched four century-plus partnerships in IPL in a losing cause. No other opening pair has more than one-century partnership in a losing cause.

1 – This was the first time in IPL where all 10 wickets of an innings were picked by Indian bowlers. Arshdeep Singh (5), Mohammed Shami (3), Ishan Porel (1), Harpreet Brar (1) are the Indian bowlers who bagged all ten wickets in innings.

185 - Rajasthan Royals registered the highest all-out IPL total (185) in the first innings against Punjab Kings.

4 - RR seamer Kartik Tyagi became the fourth player in IPL to defend six or fewer runs in the final over of the match. Munaf Patel (4 runs), Siddharth Trivedi (6 runs), Kuldeep Yadav (6 runs) were the first three IPL players to do so.

2000 - Mayank Agarwal reached 2000 runs in IPL during his blistering knock of 67 runs off 43 balls against Rajasthan Royals.


bottom of page